2410 S. 9th St. Lafayette, IN 47909 765.474.7500

Mission Statement: Christian Service

Mission Statement: Christian Service

As each one has received a gift, use it to serve one another as good stewards of God’s varied grace. (1 Peter 4:10 New American Bible)

The Lafayette Catholic School System, centered on Jesus Christ, educates the whole person in a culture that is:

•  sustained by Gospel witness and service;
•  imbued with a Catholic worldview;
•  supported by a community of faith;
•  distinguished by academic excellence; and
•  committed to student success.

This is the second installment of a series of articles which explores the LCSS Mission. This installment will discuss “Christian Service.” (Please click on the links in the mission, above, to view the previous installments.)

To fully live the Gospel witness, we must also act. In James 2:14 we are asked, “What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works?” The Lafayette Catholic School System promotes a culture of service in it students, faculty, and staff with the aim to help form consciences, build community, and develop our future servant leaders.

The Lafayette Catholic School System looks for inspiration and guidance from both the Catholic Tradition and the written Word. In particular, we look to the Corporal and Spiritual Works of Mercy and Church social teachings.

Corporal Works of MercyLUM

The Corporal Works of Mercy are acts by which we help our neighbors with their material and physical needs.

  1. feed the hungry
  2. give drink to the thirsty
  3. shelter the homeless
  4. visit the sick
  5. visit the prisoners
  6. bury the dead
  7. give alms to the poor

Spiritual Works of Mercy

The Spiritual Works of Mercy are acts of compassion by which we help our neighbors with their emotional and spiritual needs.

  1. counseling the doubtfulScreen Shot 2015-10-23 at 8.58.50 AM
  2. instructing the ignorant
  3. admonishing the sinner
  4. comforting the sorrowful
  5. forgiving injuries
  6. bearing wrongs patiently
  7. praying for the living and the dead

Ten Building Blocks of Catholic Social Teaching

These 10 principles guide Catholic social teaching and inform us as we promote a culture of service.

  1. The Principle of Human Dignity
  2. The Principle of Respect for Human Life
  3. The Principle of Association
  4. The Principle of Participation
  5. The Principle of Preferential Protection for the Poor and Vulnerable
  6. The Principle of Solidarity
  7. The Principle of Stewardship
  8. The Principle of Subsidiarity
  9. The Principle of Human Equality
  10. The Principle of the Common Good




Byron, W. J. (1998). “Ten Building Blocks of Catholic Social Teaching.” 

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. (n.d.) “Corporal Works of Mercy.” 

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. (n.d.) “Spiritual Works of Mercy.” 


Related Readings:

Miller, J.M. (2006). The Holy See’s Teaching on Catholic Schools. Manchester, NH: Sophia Institute Press.Miller, J.M.

Ozar, L. A., & Weitzel-O’Neill, P. (Eds.). (2012). National standards and benchmarks for effective Catholic elementary and secondary schools. Chicago, IL: Loyola University Chicago, Center for Catholic School Effectiveness.

Code of Canon Law, c. 793 – 821. (1983). The Code of Canon Law: Latin-English Edition. Washington, DC: Canon Law Society of America.

Comments are closed.

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: